My 2018 Reading List

Like most people, I stopped reading books after grade 12 English. I didn’t really have much time last year after high school ended. But this year, I have decided to dive back into yet another one of my past hobbies I abandoned. I don’t plan on reading anything overly difficult, because I don’t see the fun in that. I enjoy books that are easy to read and get lost in.

So, I have come up with a list of books I want to read at some point in this year. I will share this list with you, including a picture of the novel, a small summary, and the link to it on Amazon.

  1. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

a wrinkle in time.jpg

Meg Murray, along with her younger brother Charles Wallace and friend Calvin O’Keefe, travel the galaxy in an extraordinary adventure to find their father, as well as save the universe.

2. Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

12913325

Set during World War II, a fifteen year old girl named Lina, along with her mother and younger brother, is separated from her father by the Soviets. They are brought to a Siberian work camp where they fight for their lives. Lina, with her love of drawing, embeds clues within her art of their location, and in secret, passes them along, hoping to reach her father in another prison camp.

3. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer

2728527.jpg

Post World War II, Writer Juliet Ashton is searching for the subject of her next book. Little did she know, she would find it with the help of a letter from a man she has never met. She and the man exchange letters, and Juliet soon learns of the wonders of the island of Guernsey.

4. Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Simple

13526165.jpg

After Bee aced her report card and claimed her reward, a trip to Antartica, her mother, Bernadette, goes missing. To find her mother, Bee puts together emails, documents, and even secret correspondence.

Leave a comment